Scotland’s Garden Open Day

Scotland’s Garden Open Day P1030954
It was a very pleasant day and I was looking forward to going out to do my duties at Inchmarlo’s Open Day to raise money for the Scottish Garden Scheme charities and our choice of a charity, Alzheimer Scotland.
At the entrance selling the entry tickets, were Helen assisted by Home Owner, Bill, who has done this in the past.

Me with Helen and Bill

Me with Helen and Bill

The gardens were looking gorgeous and after I spent a little while in them, Daddy and I walked through the Queen Victoria Park and met Bud and Margaret in number 1 QVP who always like speaking to me, and I to them, so we had a chat and I got my back rubbed and my ears tickled, it was super.
Then we walked up through the Rainbow Garden and I greeted a whole lot of visitors.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Some of our Home Owners were having their regular putting competition beside the Keyhole Garden.

Putting beside the Keyhole Garden

Putting beside the Keyhole Garden

There were lots of people coming and going, looking at the plan in the Rainbow Garden, showing the layout of the flowers chosen to reflect the colours of the rainbow.

The Rainbow Garden

The Rainbow Garden

P1030972
There were other dogs as well, and I spoke to a whole lot of them and numerous people came over and spoke to me and we all got on extremely well.
After spending some time we followed the signs for the new East Park show house which only opened two days before, the previous show house and show flat having been sold almost immediately they were open for viewing. I took my place outside and watched lots of people going in and having a good look.

The new Show House

The new Show House

Then back down through the Alpine Garden to the main house and unfortunately the Deeside Pipe Band had just finished playing on the lawn when we got there. Perhaps I was happy about this because with the sensitive hearing that I have, I’m not sure that I would have liked listening to the bag pipes. However, I did enjoy speaking to some of the players.

Residents and Visitors enjoying Afternoon Tea on the Lawn

Residents and Visitors enjoying Afternoon Tea on the Lawn

Me with some of the Pipe Band Members

Me with some of the Pipe Band Members

The Sensory Garden

The Sensory Garden

P1030983
The weather was so good that while the majority of people were having afternoon tea in the main Dining Room, quite a number of them came outside and sat in the sunshine having their scones, shortbread and meringues. You will remember that on the previous Friday I had been out welcoming the pupils from Keig School. Well on the Garden Open Day two pupils from Keig came with their Grandmother so that she could have a look at the Sensory Garden.

The Sensory Garden Plaque

The Sensory Garden Plaque

P1030951
Before we left I just had to go to speak to one of my favourite residents, Dr Margaret. She said she was very pleased to see me again and she had a nice afternoon sitting under the canopy in the sun watching all the activities going on and we had a very pleasant time.

Dr. Margaret and myself enjoying the sun

Dr. Margaret and myself enjoying the sun

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

