Inchmarlo Gardens Open Day

 

Daddy and I went to Inchmarlo and after he had lunch we walked all over the Estate checking that everything was right for the forthcoming Garden Open Day.  After that I went in to the Red Drawing Room and the Picture Gallery and did my usual “cheering up role” with the Residents.  Karen told Daddy that one of my favourite residents, Dr M was feeling down so she took me upstairs to her room to cheer her up.  A very interesting thing happened.  We walked up to metal doors which slid open and then Karen and I walked in to a smallish metal room and when the doors opened again it was no longer the Picture Gallery.  For some reason we were totally transported to a different part of the building.  When I had been up to see my friend before we had used the staircase but this was the first time that we had used this new contraption which is called a lift.  It was invented in America and was originally called a ‘rising room’. 

Anyway when we came back downstairs Karen told Daddy that I had been very well behaved and I had cheered my friend up.  Didn’t I feel pleased!

Inchmarlo Gardens Open Day- 22 May

Scottish Gardens Scheme Inchmarlo

Inchmarlo Gardens Open Day

Oh what a glorious day it was.  We went out and had an early lunch and Daddy and I went all over the Estate supervising and checking that everything was ready.  First of all we went and checked on the plant stall where Susie was in command assisted by Andi and Lesley. 

Plant Stall for charity Inchmarlo

Susie and Humphrey at the Plant Stall

Everything was fine and just after this was taken some of the visitors arrived including another dog and we spoke and sniffed each other for a while – it’s a pity the doggie wasn’t a girl but you can’t have the luck all the time. Then we walked up into the main garden ahead of some of the visitors who were looking at the tall trees, many over 40 metres tall. 

Trees, Inchmarlo Gardens

Visitors enjoying the sunshine

These are the four ladies in crinoline as they are known

Trees Inchmarlo Gardens Open Day

The Four Ladies in Crinoline

I heard some of the visitors saying that the smell of the azaleas was overpowering.  Since my ability to smell is so much more sensitive than a mere human being then you can understand how I was affected by them.

Inchmarlo Gardens Open Day Scotlands Garden Scheme

Inchmarlo GardensFlowers in the sunshineInchmarlo Gardens

Then we went up to look at the new Rainbow Garden which was installed only two years ago and was designed by Billy Caruthers of Binny Plants near Edinburgh and the plants were all selected so that they followed the colours of the rainbow.  Lots of people were taking photographs of the plants and also looking at the chart which tells them which plant is exactly in which position.

Visitors to Inchmarlo open day

Visitors examining the plantsTaking in the beautiful views

This is a complete treat for keen gardeners I’m told because they can look at plants with which they were unfamiliar and then go and look up the chart to see what it is.

Jim had told Daddy there had been terrible devastation this winter caused by the heavy snow falls and trees had come down and landed on top of many of our 100 year old rhododendrons and azaleas, but despite this Jim and his gardening team had done a first class job and the gardens and the lawns were looking lovely.

Inchmarlo Gardens

Inchmarlo Gardens

 

Inchmarlo Gardens

Then we walked down to the Oriental Garden within Queen Victoria Park. I had a seat while I overlooked the ‘Kare sansui’ which is a Japanese dry stream.  I was so thirsty with all the walking that I would have loved to have been able to have a drink of water but dear me it was all slate!

Houses at Queen Victoria Park

Humphrey by the Kare Sansui dry streamKare sansui Japanese dry stream

Flowers at Queen Victoria Park

 I then went down and checked that Bill and Phyllis were doing their job correctly in taking the entrance money from the people as they arrived.

Humphrey, Phyllis and Bill

Then we walked back up to the main house so Daddy could have his scone, meringues and cup of tea and we stopped and I had a look at the Gunnera Manicata. 

Now in my garden back in Aberdeen we’ve got rhubarb but I’ve never seen rhubarb of this size before.  I’m told it is only in its first stage and will grow two or three times this size.  I have no idea how you get that into Tarte a la Rhubarb, which is a recipe by Paul Bocuse, a three star Michelin chef in Lyon, and is frequently on the menu in the Care Home.

Giant Rhubarb Inchmarlo Gardens

Humphrey by the rhubarb

There were lots of people many queuing up for tea and cakes in the main dining room but of course I wasn’t allowed in or even allowed in the marquee.  All I heard was Mummy and Daddy speaking about was how good the meringues and the Bridal Slice were.

Enjoying tea and cakes

All in all it was an extremely successful day with £1500 being raised for charities and of that £900 will go to the charities selected by Scotland’s Garden Scheme and £600 to the charity selected by Inchmarlo, Alzheimer Scotland.  I was glad to play my part in raising so much money for such a worthy cause.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment