Humphrey gets a manicure

I gave myself a tremendous fright on Sunday afternoon. The back stair from the kitchen to my own special run where I go out to do my duties is very steep and is covered in linoleum. I disliked the stair when I was a little puppy so small that you could hold me in one hand and now that I’m over 22 kilos and so heavy it is difficult for Daddy to lift me up, I still dislike them. This time it is for a different reason. When I’m coming in I go straight up but when I am walking down the stairs I have to go at a 45 degree angle. Unfortunately the lino is very slippy and my nails were needing manicured.

On Sunday afternoon as I was coming up the stairs my hind legs slipped on the lino with the result that I skidded and my long nails made a tremendous noise and I frightened myself. Later on in the day I went down the stairs to go out and I absolutely refused to come up them again. I sat down at the bottom and waited and waited and waited. Mummy eventually had to come down and try to coax me up but I kept running outside. Eventually she got hold of me and pushed me up the stairs and I went up very, very reluctantly. The next time I went down I would not let her push me up and she had to carry me up the stairs!

When Daddy came home he said that really isn’t satisfactory and he went and phoned Ardene to make an appointment for me to have another manicure. So we went out at 11 o clock on Tuesday morning and I saw all of friends behind the reception counter and as usual they made a tremendous fuss of me, and Jennifer came round and spoke to me. Eventually we were called in and much to my disappointment it wasn’t a nice young lady it was a tall young vet called Paul. He lifted me up on the table, cut my front nails a little bit and then my back nails which had been giving me all the trouble. He said to Daddy that he needed to reduce the amount of food I was eating by a cupful because I am getting too heavy  Mummy would agree when she tries to lift me. While Paul was very pleasant I must say that I prefer it when it’s a young nurse who cuts my toenails!

On the way out when Daddy was writing a cheque, Jennifer came round again and gave me a gravy bone which I hadn’t had before and it was super. I got so excited and jumped up and down and looked for another one so she took pity on me, took me round the back of reception where I spoke to my other friends and then on the way out she gave me another. It was delightful.

Unlike my predecessors Ollie and Jamie, I love going to the vets at Kingswells. They were frightened and ran away as soon as they could smell where they were. Am I not a brave boy?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

