Springtime at Inchmarlo

On Friday it was a gorgeous day and Daddy took me out to Inchmarlo.  After he and Susie had lunch I was taken through to the Red Drawing Room to see Karen and my friends. I went round and spoke to everybody as usual and they all were very complimentary and after a while I sat down and lay underneath the table as Karen read out extracts from local news from the Press and Journal.  On the way out my friends were in the reception lounge so I went round all of them and spoke to them yet again before saying goodbye and trotting off back home.

On Sunday it was another absolutely glorious day at Inchmarlo.  Daddy and Mummy had lunch in the Bar and he was speaking to Mrs T who has been living within the Community for some years and she asked how I was.  Daddy said, “Would you like to see him, he’s in the car?”  So he stopped his meal and they both went outside and Mrs T came and spoke to me, said what a lovely dog I was and how big I had grown since the last time she had seen me.  Daddy asked her if she had had dogs of her own and yes she had a cross between a whippet and another dog and it was apparently extremely friendly.  I stayed in the back of the car and she patted me a few times and asked if I would allow her to take me for a walk.  Daddy said, “Yes, Humphrey would love that but I would be afraid he might pull you off your feet.”

Afterwards Daddy was having a very lengthy telephone call from Thailand so Mummy took me for a walk all the way round Westfield and we spoke to Mr J who has a small west highland terrier.  New crocuses are just beginning to come through and in a couple of years time they are going to be very pretty.

Crocuses in Inchmarlo Gardens

Newly planted Crocuses

Crocuses in Inchmarlo Gardens

Crocuses and Snowdrops

 

Also, new early miniature daffodils have started to make an appearance.

Mini daffodils Inchmarlo Gardens

Miniature Daffodils

When we got near the heronry Mummy and I went down so that I could look at the ducks and they could look at me. It was a complete standoff since there was a wire fence between us and they became very confident and came right up to the fence and didn’t run away and I was courageous and stood still and stared them out.  Thereafter Mrs G saw us and came out and had a long chat to Mummy and I while Daddy was still on his transatlantic phone call.  I would hate to see what the bill’s like.  Later still we walked up to Pinefield and looked at the snowdrops and I was photographed sitting beside them.

Bulldog snowdrops Inchmarlo

Humphrey sitting with the snowdrops

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Springtime at Inchmarlo

  1. Shona says:

    I’ve had a lovely time reading your blogs today from the very first up to this one and would like to thank you again dear Humphrey and your Daddy for doing them and for all you do for Inchmarlo. I feel I’m getting to know you, your family and friends and Inchmarlo and am definitely a fan of yours now x

    Your Daddy really is an amazing person as you are an amazing, brave and wonderful doggie. I’m so glad he made Inchmarlo, it really is a wonderful, safe community to retire to and it’s great that he’s so hands on and gives everyone the best of everything as much as is possible.

    I’ve really enjoyed getting to know you all and certainly will be interested in any new blogs for as long as you enjoy doing them. Going to mention you and your blog to my friends on Facebook, they’re sure to love you too 🙂

  2. stacey brown says:

    hi its stacey brown (who bred humphrey) just wanted to say i hope he had a lovely birthday last week. cant believe thats him a year old and i’m so proud of him. his mum and dad are doing well and the kids love reading his blog and still talk about the great time they had when he was born x

Leave a Reply

