Another visit from Charlie

 

Pam and Charlie were up for 5 days and I have been terribly busy keeping Charlie company. He still likes to hide in the tube, crouching down and then jumping out to frighten everyone- including me.

Charlie hiding in tunnel

Peek-a-boo!

Also he likes to crawl through the tunnel when it’s on the floor and I watch him from one end as he disappears through the tube. 

Bulldog tunnel

Humphrey playing in the tunnel

On Friday afternoon, Daddy took me out to Inchmarlo and we walked through the Little Walk to see how some of the 10,000 snowdrops that were planted last year are growing. In addition to the standard snow drops there are about 6 specimen varieties planted alongside the new paths that Jim, the head gardener, Jake, the assistant head gardener and others planted. One of the biggest ones was a Snowflake snowdrop and here I gave it a good look and smell.

Humphrey springtime Inchmarlo Gardens

Mmm that smells lovely

 However, immediately afterwards, I went and sat down and unfortunately sat on top of it, flattening it completely.

Another day when Daddy and I were out at Inchmarlo he took out some treats so that I could show off my trick to all my friends in the Red Drawing Room.

I spent about an hour going round and speaking to everyone and then sat with Karen while Daddy and Susie were busy. When he came back he got to me to sit down, put a treat on the floor and I sat absolutely dead still until he clicked the clicker at which point I went ahead and ate the treat.

Daddy put a second treat down and he handed the clicker to the wife of one of the residents. She unfortunately took too long to click it and I was in so much of a hurry to eat that I dashed forward and ate it exactly at the same time as she clicked the clicker. Daddy said he would have to give me some more training before he invited me to show off my party trick again.

__________________________

Whilst Charlie was staying with us, he had a bath every night and I insisted on going up with him and supervising his bathing.

Humphrey and Charlie bathtime

Bathtime

Humphrey and Charlie bathtime

Charlie giving me a good wash

Charlie had the habit of filling his sponge with water and holding it above me and squeezing it so I got soaked. I did not mind because he is so young I have to humour him. 

When he is in his pyjamas and ready for bed Charlie likes to play with a toy train and naturally I have to inspect everything or, as they say, put my nose in it.

Bulldog toy train

Helping Charlie build his railway

Humphrey and Charlie toy train

Inspecting the trains

 Every night just before he goes to bed Charlie says goodnight to me and gives me a kiss. Isn’t that nice?

When Pam and Charlie left to go to the airport I was absolutely exhausted and went and had a super snooze.

Daddy and Mummy say that I have a remarkable ability in that I snore when I’m still awake and I sound like an old car with the silencer broken.

Sleeping Bulldog

Humphrey sleeping

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

